Reviews

Add Reviews

"Absolutely marvellous from start to finish"

 "Where do I start - I have so much to say!
 
I was a sole traveller to Kythnos and was greeted by the lovely Eirini, my guide. I was in a small group just three including the guide. The couple from Denver, Colorado in my group were amazing and we all got on really well. Our accommodation Filoxenia was really lovely and Katerina the owner was most helpful. Our hikes during the day and tavernas in the evening were all a delightful surprise, hikes and food were excellent. Eirini was the most perfect guide, she was local so was very informative and passionate about the island and culture.
 
Prior to my trip Nigel was absolutely amazing replying to my emails and requests immediately. Nothing was too much trouble!
 
This is the first time I've been away on an organised walking trip and I can say it was absolutely marvellous from start to finish! I fell in love with the island and will definitely return!!!"
 
Mary Evans
Bangor
Wales
Posted Date : 12-10-2019

Northern Irish walker says tour was "brilliant'

Walker Richard Greer from Northern Ireland has put a 5-star review on Responsible Travel where Kythnos Hiking shows off its holidays and said his holiday was "brilliant". The link to the review is https://www.responsibletravel.com/review/?id=17204#29055

Richard Greer
Cookstown
Northern Ireland
Posted Date : 11-10-2019

5-star Responsible Travel review favours Kythnos

Walker Lynda Sather from the U.S. has put a 5-star review on Responsible Travel where Kythnos Hiking shows off its holidays which meet strong community and environmental policies. The link to the review is https://www.responsibletravel.com/review/?id=17204#29055

Lynda Sather
Redmond
United States
Posted Date : 11-10-2019

"Very relaxing, we felt looked after but not herded"

A walker from Scotland has written a 5-star review on her Kythnos hiking holiday on Responsible Travel. Here is the link: https://www.responsibletravel.com/holiday/17204/greece-walking-holiday-kythnos

Catherine McLaren
Stirling
Scotland
Posted Date : 02-10-2019

Extremely good value group holiday

English walker has submitted a strongly favourable review about her six-day hiking tour on Kythnos on TripAdvisor. The link is: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r713893387-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Sophie Boxall
Hampshire
England
Posted Date : 01-10-2019

Highly Recommended

A Greek walker on one of our recent tours has written a review on TripAdvisor. Here is the link: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r709545620-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

NP
Athens
Posted Date : 01-10-2019

Totally blown away by Kythnos

Just wanted to say a massive ‘Thank You ‘ for the most amazing experience last week. Wow!!! I was totally blown away by the beauty of Kythnos, I am in love with the place! The entire trip from start to finish was faultless, from your help and direction during the planning stages, the help and attention shown by our wonderful guides, the food was incredible, the walks well planned and perfect, I could go on and on..... my only complaint is that it had to come to an end.

Anna Hopkins
Bangor
Wales
Posted Date : 01-10-2019

Perfekter Ort abseits der Massen/Perfect place away from crowds

Kythnos ist der perfekte Ort, um das ursprüngliche Griechenland abseits von Touristenmassen kennenzulernen. Das Wandern ist hier zwar noch eine eher selten ausgeübte Aktivität und die Infrastruktur daher zum Teil noch ausbaufähig, aber mit ein bisschen Abenteuer- und Entdeckergeist, südländischer Gelassenheit und dank der mühevollen Betreuung durch unseren ortsansässigen Partner, findet man sich trotzdem immer wieder gut zurecht.

Die Insel lebt von ihrer Authentizität und die Einheimischen heißen jeden (auch dich!) herzlich Willkommen.

(English translation:)

Kythnos is the perfect place to get to know the original Greece away from tourist crowds. Although hiking is still a rather rarely practiced activity [on Kythnos] and the infrastructure can therefore partially improve, with a bit of adventure and discovery spirit, Mediterranean serenity and thanks to the painstaking care of our local partner, you will always find your way around well.

The island lives from its authenticity and the locals warmly welcome everyone (including you!).

[The full text of Gesa's article in German can be found at https://www.asi-reisen.de/blog/kythnos-reisebericht/.]
 
[Gesa works for our tour operator partner ASI and received a modest discount on her paid-for holiday]
Gesa Schwanke
Innsbruck
Austria
Posted Date : 03-08-2019

Fabulous hiking holiday

One of last week's walkers has written a 5-star review on TripAdvisor about her "Fabulous hiking holiday". Click here to see the full review:

https://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r680252880-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Sandra Forrester
London
England
Posted Date : 11-06-2019

Far exceeded expectations

Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday. It far exceeded my expectations. 
 
This holiday offered much more than just hiking. We got a great insight into the way of life on the island both past and present with walks to archeological sites, mining caves, folk museum and flora and fauna of the island and its numerous beautiful churches. I loved the slow pace of life and the peace and quiet with the magnificent secluded beaches for swimming all to ourselves! 
 
The accommodation was excellent and very centrally located. There was a surprise element every evening as to where we dined and the food was very authentic and good variety -the local honey and cheeses are delicious. I also enjoyed the wine tasting of the locally produced wine.
 
Overall I felt that we were very well looked after and got a wonderful sense of the island of Kythnos which is so unspoilt and beautiful.
 
Joan
County Galway
Ireland
Posted Date : 09-06-2019

Absolutely fantastic

English walker Steven Handley has written a 5-star review on Responsible Travel's website about his "absolutely fantastic" hiking holiday on Kythnos. The link to his review is: https://www.responsibletravel.com/review/?id=17204

Steven Handley
Market Harborough
England
Posted Date : 01-06-2019

Beautiful Kythnos island, interesting walks

English walker Julia Morris has written a review for Responsible Travel after a tour on "the beautiful island of Kythnos and the interesting walks". Here is the link to her review:

https://www.responsibletravel.com/review/?id=17204

Julia Morris
Maidenhead
England
Posted Date : 30-04-2019

Great two-centre walking tour

English walker Andrew Newby, one of the first to sample our Serifos tour, has written a review on TripAdvisor about his "Great two-centre walking tour". Here is the link:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r669887879-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Andrew Newby
England
Posted Date : 30-04-2019

Eye catching scenery

Kythnos provides walks for both the energetic to the more leisurely walker in eye catching scenery. Those with an interest in spotting birds and plants will not be disappointed. The walks encompass geological, historical and cultural sites of interest.

Our week was an excellent introduction to Kythnos. In addition to the walks, the programme provided the chance to join a local family celebrating a religious fete day and a welcome soaking at a thermal baths. We also enjoyed eating good food in traditional island restaurants. Our hosts at the Messaria Hotel in Chora were very welcoming, the hotel was clean and comfortable and a ‘banquet’ style breakfast was provided every morning!

Thanks to Nigel's excellent knowledge of the island he was able to give us delightful and interesting walks despite the very windy weather conditions. His “Kythnos Hiking Guide" is an invaluable aid to walking on the island. Thanks in no small part to Nigel we had a great week.

Clive and Jill Graham
Andover
England
Posted Date : 24-10-2018

Beautiful countryside with wonderful views

I enjoyed the hiking holiday very much. Kythnos is a beautiful island and Nigel an excellent and knowledgable guide who knows so much about the history of the island. The weather made it difficult to walk some days but he made every effort to ensure that we had a good holiday. We walked whenever possible and if not we went to interesting places like the Byzantine and Folk museums and the Hot Springs and baths. One day we were welcomed into  a family church celebration.
 
I was very pleased with my accommodation at Filoxinia studios. I had a lovely room with a balcony with views over the island.  We went to tavernas in different parts of the island in ths evenings with very good food - good company, good food - brilliant.
 
I enjoyed the walks which I did walking through beautiful countryside with wonderful views and then down to quiet ,sandy beaches and having lunch by the sea. I missed my flight home because of the weather and Nigel helped me a lot in getting me home
 
It was a holiday which I will remember with great pleasure.
Asked not to be named
England
Posted Date : 19-10-2018

Loved the feel of small Greek island

I joined for two days walking and loved the feel of a small Greek island that hasn’t been overrun with tourism — not a cruise ship in sight, bliss! The walks were much more varied than I’d anticipated: down hidden valleys to quiet beaches or uphill to ancient sites that are still being excavated, and little white chapels in the middle of nowhere, through countryside that is still being farmed. The walking was tough enough to merit the beer at the end, or in the middle. The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and friendly. The eating out was a bit limited but it was at the end of the season. ‘Authentically Greek’ might be the best word to describe the whole experience but that gets overused. Best to say it is a place that’s rewarding to explore and that feels like the Greek islands I visited over 40 years ago — except with wi-fi.

Howard Williams
Stillington
England
Posted Date : 17-10-2018

Experience the real Kythnos

I came to Kythnos on my first walking holiday in early September. I had a few things in mind when choosing my trip - a small group of people, solo travellers were welcome, have the chance to meet the local people, and experience everyday life on the island. Kythnos Hiking ticked all the boxes.

Nigel organised absolutely everything from ferry pick ups to walking routes and different restaurants every evening. On a couple of occasions the planned itinerary had to change for reasons out of his control and he seamlessly altered routes etc in his relaxed easy going way. Nothing was a problem.

Our guide Panagiotis has family connections on Kythnos so we really felt we got a great insight into life on the island. Everywhere we went people knew him and his family, they would stop for a chat and talk about island life, show us around their property or offer us food and drink.  Our group had both German and English speakers so Panagiotis was busy speaking 3 languages as well as guiding us along the mule tracks, keeping a pace that suited all of us and encouraging us when the heat and steep hills were getting the better of us. He took it all in his stride and with good humour. You could see how much he enjoyed guiding us on this beautiful island.

We all dined as a group in the evening and the food was wonderful everywhere we went. The accommodation in Hora was lovely, looking out over the town square. Each room was large and airy with its own balcony.

What really made this holiday special for me was interacting with the local people everywhere we went - from hotel owner, shop keepers, taxi drivers, farmers. Even if they had as much English as I had Greek - none! There was always a smile, a few words and hand gestures to make you feel welcome. And it's amazing what conversations can be had with a language barrier!! I went to Kythnos to experience Kythnian life and people and boy, did I get that.

Thank you especially to Nigel and Panagiotis for such a great experience 

Noni Law
County Wicklow
Ireland
Posted Date : 12-10-2018

A special experience

English walker Richard Martin and wife Patsy have posted a TripAdvisor review on "a special experience" on Kythnos:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r623699833-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Richard Martin
Chippenham
England
Posted Date : 11-10-2018

Fascinating exploration of little known Greek island

My Kythnos Hiking trip was a fascinating exploration of a little-known
Greek island, on foot. I went out of season, so most of the traffic our
group encountered was on six feet, namely farmers and their mules.

Though not long, some walks involved thorny mule tracks (shorts and
sandals not recommended) and some scrambling over rocks. But none of it
was too difficult, and it was worth it to see the places we visited.

Our organiser coped well with varied walking capabilities and a
once-in-60-years storm which halted all island ferries. Not to mention
some gale-force winds.

But all in all I had a great time. Thoroughly forgot about my computer
and social media. Recommended.

Philip Hunt
Brussels
Belgium
Posted Date : 07-10-2018

Very highly recommended

This holiday was fantastic!  Our tour leader, Nigel, really cared that we enjoyed ourselves.  He was very attentive, without smothering us:  this is quite an art! The walks were interesting and varied with us learning and experiencing a lot about Greek culture and the  history of Kythnos.  Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about these subjects as well as pointing out various aspects of the local natural environment.   It was a treat to visit a current excavation site with Katerina as our guest guide to share her detailed knowledge of diggings on the island.   As someone new to hiking I was a bit concerned with how I would cope with the distances over consecutive days, but i needed [not to] have been concerned because I received a lot of support and understanding from the tour leader, Nigel, and also from other walkers.  As long as I paced myself I could manage any steep walks and as well as enjoying the views, company and explorations I improved my skills and confidence in hiking.  I really liked how the tour leader discussed the pros and cons of each day's full hike so that as a group we could reach consensus on whether we wanted to hike further or drive back, for example.  That said, you do need to have reasonable fitness to enjoy the hikes.  Since it was hot weather, the daily swim or swims were particularly welcome and helped to refresh us.  The meals were fresh, healthy, generous and tasty: perfect.  It was fun eating at different restaurants around the island and sharing a meal together was a great [way] to get to know each other better.    The accommodation was authentic,  lovely, clean and very conveniently located.  It was great to have a base and take hikes from our base accommodation.   A special bonus was that Nigel very kindly met myself and another hiker at the airport, took us to see the Temple of Poseidon before driving us, and accompanying us on the ferry to Kythnos and transferring us to our accommodation.   I also appreciated having alone time from about 6 to 8pm each day which made a good balance between group time and solo time.  Great value for money and fun.  If I had tried to do these hikes by myself I would have gotten lost, lost motivation to complete them, missed learning relevant and interesting information and would have had pot luck choosing restaurants.   Joining this tour was a brilliant experience with none of those issues.  Very highly recommended.
Julie Guilfoile
Perth
Australia
Posted Date : 10-09-2018

Wonderful time

A walker from England has posted a TripAdvisor review of her "wonderful time" on Kythnos:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r613593193-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Christine Preston
Shropshire
England
Posted Date : 04-09-2018

Amazing holiday

A super holiday with excellent hospitality on an island which mixes a traditional Greek way of life with a holiday in the sun. We stayed at the Messaria Hotel in Hora, which was excellent ; the owners ( who spoke English which was helpful) were great hosts and the rooms and the breakfasts were first class.

The holiday guides, Angelos, Katherina and the organiser Nigel Tutt were excellent hosts, allowing us to see many different parts of the island,providing an insight to the history of the island and sampling some of the local produce. We dined with our hosts at various restaurants around the island,with Nigel providing the transportation in his little Fiat.

We considered the walking trails were not for the faint hearted, as there were many ups and downs and the stoney paths needed respect. We were there in the height of summer therefore the heat was also a concern, so water and strategic stops on the walks was a must-which was good for us as it meant we saw many excellent views of the island. Having said that,the walks were carefully planned by Nigel to ensure a swim in a bay was always available at some time every day together with a tasty lunch at a local taverna nearby.

Because of the heat and the terrain we think we walked at a slower pace than we usually do in the U.K., and we certainly reduced the length of the walks as well. However this was just right for us and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about this amazing holiday.

Nicola Dingle
(Nicola was a Sunvil client 23-30 July 2018)
Southend-on-Sea
England
Posted Date : 25-08-2018

An excellent week on the beautiful island of Kythnos

The walks were all very well planned and led by Nigel and [Katerina]. The leaders were very attentive and highly informative adding to the enjoyment of each walk. All the walks ended on a beach where swimming was a welcome rest. There was also the option to take a taxi back rather than walk which suited us on occasion. The trip to the castle ruins and excavations was particularly interesting.
 
The hotel was great with lovely breakfasts.  Nigel organised a variety of evening meals in different places which gave us a true flavour of the island.
 
Thoroughly recommended 5 STARS *****
Peter Thompson
Wokingham
England
Posted Date : 26-07-2018

Highly recommended

South of England walkers Jacky and Tony Storey have put a glowing review on TripAdvisor:

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r587263076-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

 

Jacky Storey
Hayling Island
England
Posted Date : 14-06-2018

Wonderful experience ... you won't be disappointed

English walkers Cliff and Sarah Spanswick walked on Kythnos during a nature-themed week and provided this review:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r586732411-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

 

Cliff and Sarah Spanswick
England
Posted Date : 12-06-2018

Fascinating and enjoyable holiday

London walker Rebecca, who walked with us on Kythnos last week, has posted a 5-star review on Tripadvisor:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r583939893-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Rebecca S
London
England
Posted Date : 31-05-2018

A great way to discover a great place

Overall rating. 5 out of 5.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hikes and the scenery, the pace and humour with which cultural information was delivered. It’s a great way to discover a great place.
Every trip involved fresh discoveries revealing just how rich the island was in wildlife, history and culture.
There were some good steep climbs and descents on well-preserved mule tracks. While to start with this was a bit of a challenge the walks got easier through the week as we got fitter and the pace slackened with lesser distances to cover. We loved the afternoon beach swims. Your company in the evenings and active knowledge of all there was to know, who was who and doing what added greatly to the experience. There was seldom a moment when we were not actively getting an experience of Kythnos and Greece. We appreciated the birthday dinner and fizz and personal attention.
The food and drink was great and very much local.  And the locals were charming and hospitable.
There was good birdwatching including ravens, marsh harriers, orphan warblers, Sardinian warblers, hoopoes, crested larks to name just a few. 
Would not hesitate to recommend it and would be happy to do the rest of the trails in search of birds and beech martens.

Alastair and Ala Gilroy
Banbury
England
Posted Date : 30-05-2018

Fun hiking, the feel of secret beach swimming, mostly quiet island

An amazing 6 day self-guided hiking experience.

We stayed in Hora, since Dryopida Mansions have not been completed yet. There are a variety of hill hikes that typically lead you through historic donkey paths, past farms and purple valleys, to beaches that are completely empty and private (in May - pre-season). Nigel Tutt's hiking guide and the Kythnos hiking map was very useful in the self-guided hike experience, and pretty accurate as the wind does not leave sign-posts up in some places.
 
More on tripadvisor...

 

Carel
Zurich
Switzerland
Posted Date : 27-05-2018

Energetic and enjoyable tour

Walkers John and Julia Boyle have posted a review on Natural Greece's website after their trip to Kythnos together with a link to the wonderful photos of snakes and lizards they took:

http://www.natural-greece.gr/tours/trekking-trip-for-nature-lovers-on-kythnos-island-greece/#comments

John and Julia Boyle
England
Posted Date : 17-05-2018

Overall recommendation

I enjoyed the holiday very much. The island is very scenic with hilly walks falling away to small beach areas. The daily walks were varied in length, terrain and location but on no occasion did I return feeling that I could not go again the next day. The accommodation was very clean and spacious [the renovations did not impede on my stay]. The evening meals were enjoyable and the tavernas visited very welcoming. Overall I would recommend the holiday.
 
Vivienne Belt
Birmingham
England
Posted Date : 13-05-2018

Italian hikers in stupendous experience

(Original review in Italian; English translation follows)
 
L'organizzazione è stata molto buona non abbiamo avuto nessuna difficoltà di tipo organizativo, i trek e le passeggiate che abbiamo fatto sono state molto belle e spettacolari in punti dell'isola molto panoramici, le guide Dimitra e Katerina sono state molto disponibili e professionali che hanno fatto sì che non abbiamo avuto nessun problema.
Gli alloggi di Atene sia il primo giorno che l'ultimo sono soddisfacenti e a Kythnos molto belle, pulite e accoglienti, i pasti sono stati molto abbondanti e buoni sempre con insalate spiedini e pietanze gustose.
La parte storica e culturale sono state molto interessanti e spiegate bene dalle guide con visite a chiese che nell'isola abbondano, la natura dell'isola in questa stagione è molto viva e verde con fioriture di diverse specie di piante.
Un paragrafo a parte è stata la festa che abbiamo assistito del primo maggio dove abbiamo visto balli provenienti da diverse isole e canti molto interessanti.
 
Per concludere una stupenda esperienza di trek, natura, cultura e gastronomia.
 
(English translation)
 

The organisation has been very good and we have had no type of organisational difficulty. The treks and the walks that we have done have been very beautiful and spectacular in places on the island which were very panoramic. The guides Dimitra and Katerina have been very available and professional in what they did and so we have had no problem on that front.

The lodging on the first day and the last day in Athens has been very satisfactory and in Kythnos the rooms have been very good, clean and welcoming. The food has been abundant and good, always with salads, meat skewers, and tasty dishes.

The historical and cultural parts of the tour have been very interesting and explained well by the guides, with visits to the abundant churches on the island.

The nature on the island in this season has been very alive and green with various colourful plant species.

A separate paragraph for the festival for the first of May where we were present and have seen dances from different islands and very interesting songs.

To conclude, a stupendous experience of trekking, nature, culture and gastronomy.

 
 
Mauro Carta
Trekking Italia - group leader
Florence
Italy
Posted Date : 12-05-2018

Superb hiking holiday

John Coppock who walked with his son Adam last week has posted a five-star review on Tripadvisor. See more at:

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g189429-d11725667-r574913397-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

John Coppock
Delft
The Netherlands
Posted Date : 23-04-2018

Quiet seductive beauty of Kythnos

Leonie Loudon, who walked with us in October 2017, has posted a 5-star review of her holiday on Responsible Travel:

https://www.responsibletravel.com/review/?id=17204

Leonie Loudon
Scotland
Posted Date : 01-04-2018

A must for escaping from stress, hard work loads and crazy city life

Elena L
Posted Date : 12-11-2017

Incredible little island

I have never previously gone on a walking holiday. My walks have been adventure treks at high altitude in the Himalayas and Alps for pleasure yes, but also requiring physical feats of endurance and strength. My friend Elena suggested this walking trip to Kythnos. I think this was her way of provoking and keeping my interest. She made all the arrangements - I just fell in line bringing along some basic light hiking gear and my laptop - I had quite a lot of work to get done. I had the most beautiful week exploring an incredible little island, with the most awesome colors, with a most attentive guide, Nigel. Even at relatively low altitudes - the walks required stamina because the weather was so very hot - but wonderful beaches provided a great way to cool down. I am already looking forward to my trip next year!!

Len
Belgium
Posted Date : 30-10-2017

Kythnos, Athens combination worked well

Firstly Peter & I both really enjoyed the holiday.The combination of Kythnos with Athens worked well.

We thought the holiday was good value for money & appreciated your flexibility - especially with Pete's foot problem.

We liked the accommodation in both locations - convenient & comfortable.

Visiting different locations each evening to eat was good & we enjoyed each of the tavernas. Interestingly Pete's favourite was in Dryopida. I really liked the village of Hora & when more tavernas are open earlier in the season, I would happily have stayed there most evenings. Breakfast at Stamati's was a pleasant start to the day.

The walking was good - I would have enjoyed walking more on some days, but that was hindered by Pete's limitations. It was helpful being pointed in the right direction on the two occasions when I did walk back by myself.

Katerina & Sissy were both good guides & pleasant company.
 
It is the type of holiday I would have arranged independently in the past, but it was more relaxing having it all arranged & obviously we learnt more. Also we would have needed a hirecar or lots of taxis to get to all the places especially in the evenings.
 
We would certainly recommend this holiday to others & would be interested in returning when your hotel is open.
Thank you for all your arrangements & your company.
 
Peter and Jane Batstone
Malvern
England
Posted Date : 26-10-2017

Great Walking Holiday

English walkers have posted a review of their Kythnos Hiking holiday on TripAdvisor:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g189429-d11725667-Reviews-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Tony and Rose
Eardisley
England
Posted Date : 08-10-2017

Thoroughly enjoyable

We booked our Kythnos Walking Holiday through Sunvil staying at the wonderful Messaria Hotel in Hora.  The walks were thoroughly enjoyable, especially being guided by people who knew the island so well, i.e. Nigel and Katerina whose knowledge of the ancient sites was awesome.
It was lovely to walk in open countryside on ancient donkey paths and footpaths, even though some were a little more challenging than others due to being overgrown in parts.  All that is required is a reasonable level of fitness.
Special memories were created by the little extras on the way such as meeting a Greek family, known to Katerina, who rushed to pick and wash refreshing bunches of grapes for us.  Most welcome at the end of a long walk.  Also being invited to what was really a private family occasion for the festival at a tiny church in the garden at the home of Katerina's parents where we were made most welcome.  These memories will stay with us.
Being taken to locations other than Hora to start some walks was a joy, plus being transported to other villages on two occasions for the evening meal thus allowing us to enjoy more of the island than we would have seen had we been travelling alone.
Thank you Nigel and Katerina for a lovely experience.
Julia and Trevor Newby
Retford
England
Posted Date : 08-10-2017

Visits to interesting historical sites

Rod and Maureen Longshaw
Newcastle
England
Posted Date : 28-09-2017

Surprisingly good

Generally speaking I've found the holiday surprisingly good and off the beaten track tours. The accommodation and the food were excellent and so were the hikings and the landscape, particularly the fantastic beaches where we went for a swim. Having said that, I'd point out that we could have taken the most of it had it been better planned and organised. The second and the third day were really great but the rest of them sometimes I had the feeling that we were just letting drift the hours away and taking into account that it was only a six day trip, wasting time would be a pity. Be that as it may, I had a great time and a great fun. And well, nothing is perfect and if it was, it would be very boring.

 

Laura Villanova
Barcelona
Posted Date : 28-09-2017

Very good value for money

Kythnos is great for walking but we would have found it difficult to do some of the walks unguided as the trails are not all well marked.  However Katerina and Nigel were both excellent guides; Katerina having excellent local knowledge which she is very keen to share and Nigel being very responsible and concerned for our welfare.  The programme was very full with every opportunity taken to ensure we saw as much as possible of the island's sights and of island life.

Because the trails are not as well maintained as on other islands, it is sensible to walk in long trousers to avoid scratched legs - this can be uncomfortable in the heat.

The swimming on Kythnos is excellent with gently shelving sandy beaches and Nigel ensures you get a chance to swim every day.  The beaches mostly have trees for natural shade.

The local food and wine are very good and we were taken to a variety of tavernas for lunch and dinner.

The walking holiday provided very good value for money.  We think Nigel's hotel will be a good base with even better facilities (especially breakfast) than the Messaria which, while very well appointed, was a little disappointing for breakfast.  The homemade pies and cakes were lovely but not the best fuel for walking and it was a shame the orange juice was from a carton.  A buffet breakfast would be preferable.

All in all, we strongly recommend the walking holiday.

Laura and Neil Gunn
Kings Lynn
England
Posted Date : 25-09-2017

Multiple Kythnos reviews by UK hiker

UK hiker files multiple review on Kythnos, including the hiking, on TripAdvisor.

Click here: https://www.tripadvisor.com/members-citypage/kyriacosk531/g189429

Kyriacos Koupparis
Potters Bar
England
Posted Date : 19-07-2017

What a lovely island!

I took part in many walking tours already, but this was especially fascinating. Enjoyable for me that your island

could keep a charming originality, and so I have seen a virgin nature and met lovely inhabitants everywhere.

Walks, guiding and organization came up to my expectations, and length of the tours and their difficulties have been appropriate.

Though I am only speaking a little English I could follow the explanations of history and excavations given by Katerina and Nigel.

So I enjoyed this week and like to recommend this holiday to other walking friends.

                                                                                                                       

Karin Limpack
Berlin
Germany
Posted Date : 21-06-2017

Walking on wild mule tracks

NIgel [Tutt, manager]was attentive and generous throughout our week's stay. By chance he was on the same ferry, saw our luggage labels and introduced himself. He was generous and attentive, looking after all our needs right up until our final meal together at the port before boarding the ferry to leave Kythnos. 
We really enjoyed our accommodation - the very pretty Filoxenia Studios in Chora - where we had a twin room. Every morning we had breakfast at Stamati's [bar], just a few yards away, which became a real Greek experience, chatting to Stamati and his wife and their two little children and having their delicious homemade pies made from their local cheese. 
The walking is on quite wild mule tracks, rocky and overgrown with dense, prickly vegetation in places, so I strongly recommend sturdy footwear, long trousers and walking poles to push aside the thorny foliage. The terrain is mostly rolling hills, with some steep valleys and numerous dry stone walls, little shade but offering great coastal views. Nigel planned the itinerary so that each day we walked off in a different direction and so explored different parts of the island, coming down to quiet beaches for an optional swim. The walks were semi-guided. Katrina guided us in the mornings. She had great local knowledge and is a qualified surveyor so knew the island like the back of her hand. We also visited a honey farm and joined in a festival at a small country church - all very delightful. We ate with Nigel every evening at different locations around the island sampling fine taverna fare all made from local produce.
Nigel is renovating two neo-classical houses to create a hotel/activity centre in the picturesque village of Dryopida, so we may well be back next year!
Pattie Thornley and Janet Lievesley
Bristol
England
Posted Date : 15-06-2017

Favourite hiking holiday

Our hiking holiday with Kythnos Hiking goes down as one of our favourite hiking holidays. Nigel our host was attentive and flexible allowing us amend our itinerary on the hoof to suit us. 

We stayed in Hora in Hotel Messaria, a family run establishment that provides delicious home made food. It proved a perfect base.

Our concerns about the hiking before we got there were totally unfounded. The hikes were strenuous in temperatures of up to 30° but we stopped at a different beach for a swim every lunch time and that was a reinvigorating tonic for a weary hiker. Our guide Caterina, a native of Kythnos took pleasure informing us of the history of the island and was a pleasure to hike along with.

We dined in a different restaurant every night. The most memorable was the wonderful fish meal we enjoyed by the harbour at Merichas after watching a stunning sunset.

In summary, we highly recommend a hiking holiday with Kythnos Hiking in the unspoilt and underdeveloped (in terms of tourism) island of Kythnos.

Kevin and Sheila Harkin
England
Posted Date : 12-06-2017

Mid-May weather perfect for walking

The Kythnos Hiking Holiday fitted perfectly into our longer trip which included other Greek islands and Athens. It contrasted beautifully with the other, more touristy, locations and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Everyone we met was friendly and we felt very welcome.

As regular walkers we found the walks very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide Katerina was faultless and her knowledgeable descriptions of the various point of interest on the walks added to the enjoyment. The beaches visited were idyllic and, although the water was still cool, we were able to enjoy swimming in the sea. We found the mid-May weather perfect for walking, with green countryside and many flowers in bloom; the trade-off being a cool sea and quiet locations – no problem for us!

Nigel pulled everything together wonderfully and was very helpful (as our Greek is non-existent) especially at meal times.

We would happily recommend this holiday to any reasonably fit walkers; just remember your long trousers to protect your legs against the at times prickly vegetation.

Paul and Janet Shawcross
Grimsby
England
Posted Date : 30-05-2017

Fascinating Kythnos overcomes difficult start

Our holiday didn't get off to the best start as unfortunately the afternoon ferry to Kythnos was cancelled and changed to 5am the next morning. Nigel had made arrangements to stay in the Hotel Saron for the night which was fine. After a early morning for our flight and now for the ferry we felt a bit jaded! Our first walk on Tuesday morning was to be long one and we asked Nigel to amend this to a shorter one and he rearranged the programme to suit us better.
We were made very welcome by the owner of the apartments in Hora and the apartments were well equipped and comfortable. 

We met out guide at 12.00 and set off for our first walk. All was well to start but then the footpath got impassable in places and alternative way had to be found, our short walk turned into four hours, the paths were overgrown and mostly loose stones and lots of spiky plants which made walking harder.
Our other walks were much better and during our stay we went to a castle, caves, archeological excavation of an ancient city and museums, hot spring and some lovely beaches. One of the highlights was a visit to the honey farm which was fascinating.
Apart from the unfortunate start to the week, we enjoyed our time in Kythnos.
I think it would be helpful to mention on the holiday details that the walking is difficult in parts and a stick is advisable and there is little shade to be found. Nigel, although a little vague about details at times, went out of his way to make out holiday enjoyable and also ferried one of our party, who had a knee injury reoccur, to the beaches where we were to finish our walks, so she was able to have a relaxing day.
Hora is a pretty, unspoilt  whitewashed village where we felt very welcome. Kythnos is a very rural, uncommercialized Island which makes a welcome change in this day and age.
We finished our trip with two days relaxing back on the mainland at the Hotel Saron, arranged for us by Nigel, the hotel has a lovely pool and beaches a few minutes away.

Theresa McAninch
England
Posted Date : 21-05-2017

Trekking Italia nell’isola di Kythnos

[English translation follows]

Sono stata una settimana con il gruppo Trekking Italia nell’isola di Kythnos, desideriamo tutti ritornare!

Abbiamo scoperto la realtà dell’isola percorrendo sentieri e antiche mulattieri circondati da splendidi fiori che in questa stagione sono particolarmente presenti in ogni angolo dell’isola. Abbiamo avuto ottime guide che ci hanno condotto con competenza alla scoperta di un ambiente incontaminato. Buono l’alloggio nel delizioso paesino di Hora e abbiamo gustato ottime cene nelle taverne dell’isola.

L’assistenza  di Kythnos Hiking con di Nigel Tutt è stata quotidiana. Bene organizzati i trasporti con i taxi sull’isola e in pulmino sulla terraferma. Siamo rimasti anche soddisfatti della visita dell’Acropoli con Museo ad Atene e di Capo Sunio, tutto molto ben coordinato. Alla Prossima!


[A group from Trekking Italia has spent a week on the island of Kythnos. We all want to return!

We have discovered the reality of the island walking the paths and old mule tracks surrounded by splendid flowers that in this season are particularly present in each corner of the island. We have had excellent guides that have led us competently in the discovery of a pristine environment. Good accommodation in the delightful village of Hora and we have tasted excellent dinners in the island taverna.

The assistance of Kythnos Hiking with Nigel Tutt has been daily. The transport with taxis on the island and in minibus on the mainland has been well-organised. We were also satisfied by the visit to the Acropolis and its museum in Athens and to the ancient site at Cap Sounio. All was well coordinated. Until the next time!]

Angela Petralia
Trekking Italia Firenze
Posted Date : 15-05-2017

Three spring days of hiking on Kythnos

 

I hiked for three days over the Easter holiday, self-guided using the bilingual Kythnos Hiking Guide (Terrain Editions) plus some advice from a helpful guide from Kythnos Hiking (www.kythnoshiking.com).

The first trail was from Aghios Konstantinos, near Dryopida village, to the Flambouria beach. Flambouria is spectacular with beach flowers and the church on a short headland, all making it well worth the trip. The first part of the return to Merichas is a sharp hill but easily do-able.

The second walk to Aghios Ioannis is beautiful across wild countryside, valleys and past many churches. However the coastal route to Aghios Stephanos requires courage and more description than there is in the guidebook. The walk back from Aghios Stephanos is demanding because of its long hill but is satisfying.

The third walk I did to Lefkes beach is easy, though at first I missed the start of the path to Panaghia stou Mathia. It is poorly marked. The beach is a joy but the sea was too rough on my visit for swimming.

All in all a perfect island for hiking: fabulous scenery, nice local people, nature full of flowers and birds, not too demanding trails.

I recommend hiking on Kythnos and hope to go back soon.

Dimitra Kapsimelli
Athens
Greece
Posted Date : 19-04-2017

Americans walk on Kythnos

We loved our trip to Kythnos! Our host Nigel took care of every detail from start to finish - from organizing our ferry tickets, to booking our charming hotel room, to adjusting the program to accommodate our interests. We felt very welcomed. From the moment he met us at the ferry our week was completely care free. With our Greek guide Katerina we explored Kythnos’ Neolithic ruins, a Byzantine castle, a limestone cave, the thermal springs at Loutra and myriad churches. We learned about the flora and fauna as we hiked along back trails, sometimes enjoying wild figs and grapes that lined the trails. Katerina shared stories from childhood summers spent on Kythnos, giving us an insight into life on this authentically Greek island. Evenings included visits to an open-air concert and listening to traditional music in a bar, as well as enjoying delicious, fresh food at different restaurants. All of this came at an unbeatable price – we can’t wait to return. Bravo to Nigel and Katerina!

Monique Rothman and Gaby Siegel
New York
United States
Posted Date : 07-09-2016

Una coppia italiana su Kythnos in agosto

(English translation follows)
 
Siamo una coppia di Genova e siamo stati a Kythnos i primi dieci giorni di agosto.
Siamo stati accolti da Nigel Tutt che con la sua cordialità e professionalità ci ha messi subito a nostro agio.
Abbiamo soggiornato all'albergo Messaria, nel cuore di Hora, capitale di Kythnos; albergo  a gestione famigliare, semplice ma molto carino e ben curato nei dettagli.
Kythnos è un isola a 2 ore e mezza di traghetto da Lavrio, non è molto grande e non offre tante attrazioni turistiche ma ha un grande fascino ed  è piena di spiagge, l'ideale per chi ha voglia di staccare da tutto e di rilassarsi.
È l'isola dei greci e del poco turismo, lontana dalla mondanità delle sue sorelle più alla moda e anche in pieno agosto troverete pochissima gente. È l'isola dei mille sentieri, del trekking e delle chiese: più o meno 365 piccole chiese bianche sparse su tutto il territorio. Impressionante!
Inoltre i suoi abitanti sono molto cordiali ed ospitali, non faticherete a sentirvi a casa. 
La cucina greca, anche su questa piccola isola, vi inebrierà e vi conquisterà con i suoi sapori mediterranei e a rendere tutto ancora più appetitoso sono i prezzi sbalorditivi: con meno di 30 euro in due si mangia e si beve alla grande!
Insomma, andate a Kythnos se potete!
 
[We are a couple from Genoa and we were on Kythnos the first ten days of August.
We were greeted by Nigel Tutt who with his friendliness and professionalism put us at ease immediately.
We stayed at the Hotel Messaria, in the heart of Hora, the capital of Kythnos; a family run hotel, simple but very nice and well appointed.
Kythnos is an island 2 hours by ferry from Lavrio, it is not very big and does not offer many tourist attractions but has great charm and is full of beaches, ideal for those who want to disconnect from everything and relax.
It is the island of the Greeks and of little tourism, far from the worldliness of other more fashionable Cycladic islands; even in August you will find very few people. It is the island of a thousand paths, trekking and churches: more or less 365 small white churches scattered throughout the island territory. Impressive!
In addition, its people are very friendly and hospitable, you are sure to feel at home.
Greek food, even on this small island, will fill and will charm you with its Mediterranean flavours and to make it even more appetising are the staggering prices: for less than 30 euro for two you eat and drink well!
In short, go to Kythnos if you can!]
 
 
Mara, Ugo
Genoa
Italy
Posted Date : 07-09-2016

Hiking on Kythnos Island, what an amazing experience!

Both myself and my mother really enjoyed hiking on the island via the donkey trails or the little links between villages and beaches. Having two people to show us around was also extra special.

We had a lovely stay at our hotel with no bad reviews around. I just noticed that while staying with our friend Kostas and while on the mainland that people indicate that one should not flush the toilet paper due to the small pipe size. Our hotel didn’t have this notice and we can flush paper on our side of the world. So perhaps that is something you should please inform people about just in case they unintentionally cause a block pipe.

The walks itself, as mentioned above was lovely. Swimming on a different beach every day was amazing and the occasional oleander forest was also exceptional. The routes were well marked and with the guide you also supplied, I’m sure I’ll be able to walk some of the trails again by myself if I come again.  I didn’t really have any issues with the marking of the trail, but perhaps a white painted footprint on a rock here and there can also indicate to people which way to walk. These can be used along with the small route numbers.  It would also be amazing to be able to explore some of the old mining caves in the future.

The evening activities were great, especially the festival in Driopida. While on the island we really got to experience local food, which was delicious by the way. While on the mainland most places gave us western food to choose from.  It was good for us to look at the menu and recognize something we had on the island and knowing it is worth ordering other than the western food. Our free evening when the waiter tried to understand that we wanted meatballs is also a memory which is going to stay with us for a while and the fish dinner was also very delicious.  I saw the octopus drying at the restaurants while we were walking there and someone did ask us if we had fried octopus, so I gather that it is also a delicacy when at the ocean. Perhaps next time I’ll try that.

You and Katerina’s knowledge of the island was exceptional and we really liked learning more about the places we visited or saw while walking. One or two of the highlights was the archeological site we visited and the castle was also a great spot. I look forward to more hikes becoming available to the other side of the island.

Until we go there again,

Liesl and Bets van Dalen
Johannesburg
South Africa
Posted Date : 12-08-2016

A great guided break on Kythnos, Athens

We spent two days in Athens due to the Seamen's strike. At short notice, Nigel Tutt found us a charming hotel, centrally located, and organised a very enjoyable walk in the National Park which included a good meal at a mountain Refuge.
Being escorted on arrival from the airport to & from all destinations throughout the holiday was greatly appreciated.
In Athens, an arranged guided tour gave depth & interest to the city.
We were delighted by Kythnos. There was surprisingly varied flora & fauna ( May ) and with the island's topology, dry stone walls, historical sites, lush green valleys, sandy beaches & coves, the island retains a sense of being its own place, unsullied by excess tourism. Equally so in the two main villages of Hora & Dryopida. The latter with a small folk museum showing how recent the past can seem. The walks were expertly guided by Katerina Filippa; the accommodation, food & hospitality were first rate.
It was a very full five days, leaving many vivid, lingering impressions. We wish Nigel Tutt well for developing his hotel in Dryopida and we are confident he will not be short of guests as Kythnos' attractions become more widely known. We hope to return.

Oliver Rugen, Felicity Page, London
Posted Date : 03-06-2016

Ancient path

walking up an ancient path ..... picking grapes, figs and pomegranates to the right and the left ....  reaching the summit .... soothed by a gentle gust of wind and then strolling downhill toward a golden - and uncrowded - beach .... and that's just a small part of hiking across Kythnos ......

Bruce Barnard
Cambridge
England
Posted Date : 15-09-2015

Great week in Kythnos

The first thing to say is that Kythnos was much better than we were prepared for it to be. It is a really beautiful island, with a vibrant traditional way of life which has disappeared on many better known islands.

It has more or less everything you would want from a Greek island. Varied scenery soaring to ancient hilltop forts and plunging to verdant valleys. Scores of great little beaches. Wild flowers galore, including copious lupin-like sea squills in autumn. Friendly and charming people. Delicious food and wine. Skilled local musicians.

Two special features: more than a hundred tiny Greek orthodox chapels scattered across every valley and patterned dry stone walls round many fields, often with big upright flat stones giving the impression of windows in the walls.

Tour leader Nigel Tutt has definitely done the right thing in selecting Kythnos as the location to develop his hotel

The walks are full of interest with beautiful views all the way, despite sometimes off-putting instructions like 'turn right at petrol station' or 'straight down past power station'.

The walking schedule is chock-full of action and it is helpful to be a bit nimble but if you find yourself flagging, as we did one day, one of the island's taxi drivers will be happy to come and whip you back to the hotel.

The track of old iron mine railway we walked along to reach the beach where Giorgios picked us up was the flattest path we encountered on the whole island but also one of the thorniest. Ouch! Our calves took quite a few scratches.

Mine very British host Nigel was very helpful in trying to meet all our requests but the star of the show was undoubtedly Katerina Filippa, leader of the guided walks. Joint author with Nigel of the book of Kythnos hiking trails, Katerina comes from a leading Kythnos family and is an expert on the history, wildlife and culture of the island.

A 20-minute session for 6 euros in the spa at Loutra will ease your aching limbs and leave your skin soft for several days. The spa is now low key though the warm mineral waters were once so famous that Kythnians have the alternative name of Thermians.

The island's tavernas offer dishes to suit all tastes – whether you prefer meat, fish or vegetarian options.

Work is yet to start on Nigel's hotel – what an eyesore at the moment – but the Hotel Mesaria in Hora was a fine substitute, providing us with a smart room, comfortable beds gushing hot shower and views over the meadows below from the spacious balcony.

All in all, a memorable week and we'll definitely be coming back when Nigel's hotel is open, though that might present us with one small problem – we won't be able to get to Stamati's bar in Hora for breakfast. Let's hope Hotel Galatas will provide equally good spanakopita and fresh fruit with yoghourt...

Andrew Newby
London
Britain
Posted Date : 01-10-2015

Orias Castle walk

(Testimonial in Italian; English translation follows)
 
La più grande emozione che ho avuto a Kithnos è la camminata fino al castello di Orias. Un posto di una bellezza travolgente. Un incanto assoluto. Nigel mi ha portato per un antica mulattiera tra le pietre ed i profumi delle erbe aromatiche e mi ha fatto scoprire le rovine del castello bizantino. Da lassù solo il vento e l'egeo che si apre con le isole davanti.
Nigel è una guida perfetta. Mi ha accompagnato a scoprire la bellezza di kithnos con amore, tranquillità e poesia. Nigel ha scoperto tutti i luoghi più belli dell'isola, conosce le tradizioni e lascia il tempo durante il cammino di guardare, ascoltare il grido dei falchi, il fischio del vento tra le montagne, sentire la forza del luogo. Dalla cima del castello si ascoltano i millenni passati, arrivano le voci e le immagini di tutti gli uomini e donne che passarano e vissero su queste rocce. Un luogo epico.
Nigel ha anche scritto un bellissimo libro sui sentieri dell'isola e conosce  le feste, la musica i balli e può portarti a delle feste tradizionali ancora autentiche.
Sono molto felice di averlo incontrato, Nigel è la guida perfetta perchè ama l'isola e sente la poesia. Ama la gente del posto e cerca con il suo lavoro di conservare la bellezza e l'autenticità dell'isola.
Consiglio a tutti di chiamarlo per fare una camminata con lui!
 
(English translation)
 
The biggest emotion I had at Kythnos was the walk up the Castle Orias. A place of overwhelming beauty. An absolute charm. Nigel (guide) took me along an old mule track between stones and the smells of aromatic herbs in order to discover the ruins of the Byzantine castle. Up there there is only the wind and the Aegean Sea in front of other islands.
 
Nigel is the perfect guide. He accompanied me in order to discover the beauty of Kythnos with love, calm and poetry. Nigel has discovered all the most beautiful places on the island, knows the traditions and leaves time during the walk to look, listen to the cries of falcons, the whistle of the wind between the mountains, and to feel the character of the island. From the top of the castle you listen to the thousands who have passed the place, you hear the voices and images of all the men and women who have passed these rocks and lived there. It is an epic place.
 
Nigel has also written a beautiful book about the trails on the island and knows the festivals, the music, the dances, and can take you to some authentic traditional celebrations.
 
I am very happy to have met him. Nigel is the perfect guide because he loves the island and feels its poetry. He loves the people and is looking with his work to conserve the beauty and authenticity of the island.
 
I advise you to call him and do a hike with him!
 

 

Elisabetta Mari
Florence
Italy
Posted Date : 31-08-2015

Three trails

 

    I walked three of the routes outlined in the Kythnos Hiking Guide and thoroughly enjoyed every one.

    The route from Loutra to the Orias castle is fiddly at the start, going along the mule track, but is well worth the effort when you get to near the castle. The views across the fields to the spectacular castle headland and the sea below is fantastic. The castle itself is ruined but contains an interesting old church with a Byzantine fresco.

    The route to Aghios Ioannis is long and arduous but rewarded by the nature and farming on the way and the outstanding isolated beaches when you get to the coast. Perfect for a quick dip before lunch in neighbouring Aghios Stephanos and the fine food at the Kantris taverna behind the beach. One of the best restaurants on the island in my view. And I certainly needed some sustenance before the tough hill ahead back to the Hora. Fortunately it is not too long.

    On another day, I walked back from Kanala to Dryopida, on at least part of the trail in the guidebook. I love that walk not just for the easy countryside you pass but also because of the beautiful views across the Aegean to the neighbouring islands. On a clear day you can see Paros probably, plus all those other islands nearer to Kythnos.

Michael Newson
Brussels
Posted Date : 15-07-2015