Reviews

Add Reviews

A must for escaping from stress, hard work loads and crazy city life

Elena L
Posted Date : 12-11-2017

Incredible little island

I have never previously gone on a walking holiday. My walks have been adventure treks at high altitude in the Himalayas and Alps for pleasure yes, but also requiring physical feats of endurance and strength. My friend Elena suggested this walking trip to Kythnos. I think this was her way of provoking and keeping my interest. She made all the arrangements - I just fell in line bringing along some basic light hiking gear and my laptop - I had quite a lot of work to get done. I had the most beautiful week exploring an incredible little island, with the most awesome colors, with a most attentive guide, Nigel. Even at relatively low altitudes - the walks required stamina because the weather was so very hot - but wonderful beaches provided a great way to cool down. I am already looking forward to my trip next year!!

Len
Belgium
Posted Date : 30-10-2017

Kythnos, Athens combination worked well

Firstly Peter & I both really enjoyed the holiday.The combination of Kythnos with Athens worked well.

We thought the holiday was good value for money & appreciated your flexibility - especially with Pete's foot problem.

We liked the accommodation in both locations - convenient & comfortable.

Visiting different locations each evening to eat was good & we enjoyed each of the tavernas. Interestingly Pete's favourite was in Dryopida. I really liked the village of Hora & when more tavernas are open earlier in the season, I would happily have stayed there most evenings. Breakfast at Stamati's was a pleasant start to the day.

The walking was good - I would have enjoyed walking more on some days, but that was hindered by Pete's limitations. It was helpful being pointed in the right direction on the two occasions when I did walk back by myself.

Katerina & Sissy were both good guides & pleasant company.
 
It is the type of holiday I would have arranged independently in the past, but it was more relaxing having it all arranged & obviously we learnt more. Also we would have needed a hirecar or lots of taxis to get to all the places especially in the evenings.
 
We would certainly recommend this holiday to others & would be interested in returning when your hotel is open.
Thank you for all your arrangements & your company.
 
Peter and Jane Batstone
Malvern
England
Posted Date : 26-10-2017

Great Walking Holiday

English walkers have posted a review of their Kythnos Hiking holiday on TripAdvisor:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g189429-d11725667-Reviews-Kythnos_Hiking-Kithnos_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Tony and Rose
Eardisley
England
Posted Date : 08-10-2017

Thoroughly enjoyable

We booked our Kythnos Walking Holiday through Sunvil staying at the wonderful Messaria Hotel in Hora.  The walks were thoroughly enjoyable, especially being guided by people who knew the island so well, i.e. Nigel and Katerina whose knowledge of the ancient sites was awesome.
It was lovely to walk in open countryside on ancient donkey paths and footpaths, even though some were a little more challenging than others due to being overgrown in parts.  All that is required is a reasonable level of fitness.
Special memories were created by the little extras on the way such as meeting a Greek family, known to Katerina, who rushed to pick and wash refreshing bunches of grapes for us.  Most welcome at the end of a long walk.  Also being invited to what was really a private family occasion for the festival at a tiny church in the garden at the home of Katerina's parents where we were made most welcome.  These memories will stay with us.
Being taken to locations other than Hora to start some walks was a joy, plus being transported to other villages on two occasions for the evening meal thus allowing us to enjoy more of the island than we would have seen had we been travelling alone.
Thank you Nigel and Katerina for a lovely experience.
Julia and Trevor Newby
Retford
England
Posted Date : 08-10-2017

Visits to interesting historical sites

Rod and Maureen Longshaw
Newcastle
England
Posted Date : 28-09-2017

Surprisingly good

Generally speaking I've found the holiday surprisingly good and off the beaten track tours. The accommodation and the food were excellent and so were the hikings and the landscape, particularly the fantastic beaches where we went for a swim. Having said that, I'd point out that we could have taken the most of it had it been better planned and organised. The second and the third day were really great but the rest of them sometimes I had the feeling that we were just letting drift the hours away and taking into account that it was only a six day trip, wasting time would be a pity. Be that as it may, I had a great time and a great fun. And well, nothing is perfect and if it was, it would be very boring.

 

Laura Villanova
Barcelona
Posted Date : 28-09-2017

Very good value for money

Kythnos is great for walking but we would have found it difficult to do some of the walks unguided as the trails are not all well marked.  However Katerina and Nigel were both excellent guides; Katerina having excellent local knowledge which she is very keen to share and Nigel being very responsible and concerned for our welfare.  The programme was very full with every opportunity taken to ensure we saw as much as possible of the island's sights and of island life.

Because the trails are not as well maintained as on other islands, it is sensible to walk in long trousers to avoid scratched legs - this can be uncomfortable in the heat.

The swimming on Kythnos is excellent with gently shelving sandy beaches and Nigel ensures you get a chance to swim every day.  The beaches mostly have trees for natural shade.

The local food and wine are very good and we were taken to a variety of tavernas for lunch and dinner.

The walking holiday provided very good value for money.  We think Nigel's hotel will be a good base with even better facilities (especially breakfast) than the Messaria which, while very well appointed, was a little disappointing for breakfast.  The homemade pies and cakes were lovely but not the best fuel for walking and it was a shame the orange juice was from a carton.  A buffet breakfast would be preferable.

All in all, we strongly recommend the walking holiday.

Laura and Neil Gunn
Kings Lynn
England
Posted Date : 25-09-2017

Multiple Kythnos reviews by UK hiker

UK hiker files multiple review on Kythnos, including the hiking, on TripAdvisor.

Click here: https://www.tripadvisor.com/members-citypage/kyriacosk531/g189429

Kyriacos Koupparis
Potters Bar
England
Posted Date : 19-07-2017

What a lovely island!

I took part in many walking tours already, but this was especially fascinating. Enjoyable for me that your island

could keep a charming originality, and so I have seen a virgin nature and met lovely inhabitants everywhere.

Walks, guiding and organization came up to my expectations, and length of the tours and their difficulties have been appropriate.

Though I am only speaking a little English I could follow the explanations of history and excavations given by Katerina and Nigel.

So I enjoyed this week and like to recommend this holiday to other walking friends.

                                                                                                                       

Karin Limpack
Berlin
Germany
Posted Date : 21-06-2017

Walking on wild mule tracks

NIgel [Tutt, manager]was attentive and generous throughout our week's stay. By chance he was on the same ferry, saw our luggage labels and introduced himself. He was generous and attentive, looking after all our needs right up until our final meal together at the port before boarding the ferry to leave Kythnos. 
We really enjoyed our accommodation - the very pretty Filoxenia Studios in Chora - where we had a twin room. Every morning we had breakfast at Stamati's [bar], just a few yards away, which became a real Greek experience, chatting to Stamati and his wife and their two little children and having their delicious homemade pies made from their local cheese. 
The walking is on quite wild mule tracks, rocky and overgrown with dense, prickly vegetation in places, so I strongly recommend sturdy footwear, long trousers and walking poles to push aside the thorny foliage. The terrain is mostly rolling hills, with some steep valleys and numerous dry stone walls, little shade but offering great coastal views. Nigel planned the itinerary so that each day we walked off in a different direction and so explored different parts of the island, coming down to quiet beaches for an optional swim. The walks were semi-guided. Katrina guided us in the mornings. She had great local knowledge and is a qualified surveyor so knew the island like the back of her hand. We also visited a honey farm and joined in a festival at a small country church - all very delightful. We ate with Nigel every evening at different locations around the island sampling fine taverna fare all made from local produce.
Nigel is renovating two neo-classical houses to create a hotel/activity centre in the picturesque village of Dryopida, so we may well be back next year!
Pattie Thornley and Janet Lievesley
Bristol
England
Posted Date : 15-06-2017

Favourite hiking holiday

Our hiking holiday with Kythnos Hiking goes down as one of our favourite hiking holidays. Nigel our host was attentive and flexible allowing us amend our itinerary on the hoof to suit us. 

We stayed in Hora in Hotel Messaria, a family run establishment that provides delicious home made food. It proved a perfect base.

Our concerns about the hiking before we got there were totally unfounded. The hikes were strenuous in temperatures of up to 30° but we stopped at a different beach for a swim every lunch time and that was a reinvigorating tonic for a weary hiker. Our guide Caterina, a native of Kythnos took pleasure informing us of the history of the island and was a pleasure to hike along with.

We dined in a different restaurant every night. The most memorable was the wonderful fish meal we enjoyed by the harbour at Merichas after watching a stunning sunset.

In summary, we highly recommend a hiking holiday with Kythnos Hiking in the unspoilt and underdeveloped (in terms of tourism) island of Kythnos.

Kevin and Sheila Harkin
England
Posted Date : 12-06-2017

Mid-May weather perfect for walking

The Kythnos Hiking Holiday fitted perfectly into our longer trip which included other Greek islands and Athens. It contrasted beautifully with the other, more touristy, locations and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Everyone we met was friendly and we felt very welcome.

As regular walkers we found the walks very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide Katerina was faultless and her knowledgeable descriptions of the various point of interest on the walks added to the enjoyment. The beaches visited were idyllic and, although the water was still cool, we were able to enjoy swimming in the sea. We found the mid-May weather perfect for walking, with green countryside and many flowers in bloom; the trade-off being a cool sea and quiet locations – no problem for us!

Nigel pulled everything together wonderfully and was very helpful (as our Greek is non-existent) especially at meal times.

We would happily recommend this holiday to any reasonably fit walkers; just remember your long trousers to protect your legs against the at times prickly vegetation.

Paul and Janet Shawcross
Grimsby
England
Posted Date : 30-05-2017

Fascinating Kythnos overcomes difficult start

Our holiday didn't get off to the best start as unfortunately the afternoon ferry to Kythnos was cancelled and changed to 5am the next morning. Nigel had made arrangements to stay in the Hotel Saron for the night which was fine. After a early morning for our flight and now for the ferry we felt a bit jaded! Our first walk on Tuesday morning was to be long one and we asked Nigel to amend this to a shorter one and he rearranged the programme to suit us better.
We were made very welcome by the owner of the apartments in Hora and the apartments were well equipped and comfortable. 

We met out guide at 12.00 and set off for our first walk. All was well to start but then the footpath got impassable in places and alternative way had to be found, our short walk turned into four hours, the paths were overgrown and mostly loose stones and lots of spiky plants which made walking harder.
Our other walks were much better and during our stay we went to a castle, caves, archeological excavation of an ancient city and museums, hot spring and some lovely beaches. One of the highlights was a visit to the honey farm which was fascinating.
Apart from the unfortunate start to the week, we enjoyed our time in Kythnos.
I think it would be helpful to mention on the holiday details that the walking is difficult in parts and a stick is advisable and there is little shade to be found. Nigel, although a little vague about details at times, went out of his way to make out holiday enjoyable and also ferried one of our party, who had a knee injury reoccur, to the beaches where we were to finish our walks, so she was able to have a relaxing day.
Hora is a pretty, unspoilt  whitewashed village where we felt very welcome. Kythnos is a very rural, uncommercialized Island which makes a welcome change in this day and age.
We finished our trip with two days relaxing back on the mainland at the Hotel Saron, arranged for us by Nigel, the hotel has a lovely pool and beaches a few minutes away.

Theresa McAninch
England
Posted Date : 21-05-2017

Trekking Italia nell’isola di Kythnos

[English translation follows]

Sono stata una settimana con il gruppo Trekking Italia nell’isola di Kythnos, desideriamo tutti ritornare!

Abbiamo scoperto la realtà dell’isola percorrendo sentieri e antiche mulattieri circondati da splendidi fiori che in questa stagione sono particolarmente presenti in ogni angolo dell’isola. Abbiamo avuto ottime guide che ci hanno condotto con competenza alla scoperta di un ambiente incontaminato. Buono l’alloggio nel delizioso paesino di Hora e abbiamo gustato ottime cene nelle taverne dell’isola.

L’assistenza  di Kythnos Hiking con di Nigel Tutt è stata quotidiana. Bene organizzati i trasporti con i taxi sull’isola e in pulmino sulla terraferma. Siamo rimasti anche soddisfatti della visita dell’Acropoli con Museo ad Atene e di Capo Sunio, tutto molto ben coordinato. Alla Prossima!


[A group from Trekking Italia has spent a week on the island of Kythnos. We all want to return!

We have discovered the reality of the island walking the paths and old mule tracks surrounded by splendid flowers that in this season are particularly present in each corner of the island. We have had excellent guides that have led us competently in the discovery of a pristine environment. Good accommodation in the delightful village of Hora and we have tasted excellent dinners in the island taverna.

The assistance of Kythnos Hiking with Nigel Tutt has been daily. The transport with taxis on the island and in minibus on the mainland has been well-organised. We were also satisfied by the visit to the Acropolis and its museum in Athens and to the ancient site at Cap Sounio. All was well coordinated. Until the next time!]

Angela Petralia
Trekking Italia Firenze
Posted Date : 15-05-2017

Three spring days of hiking on Kythnos

 

I hiked for three days over the Easter holiday, self-guided using the bilingual Kythnos Hiking Guide (Terrain Editions) plus some advice from a helpful guide from Kythnos Hiking (www.kythnoshiking.com).

The first trail was from Aghios Konstantinos, near Dryopida village, to the Flambouria beach. Flambouria is spectacular with beach flowers and the church on a short headland, all making it well worth the trip. The first part of the return to Merichas is a sharp hill but easily do-able.

The second walk to Aghios Ioannis is beautiful across wild countryside, valleys and past many churches. However the coastal route to Aghios Stephanos requires courage and more description than there is in the guidebook. The walk back from Aghios Stephanos is demanding because of its long hill but is satisfying.

The third walk I did to Lefkes beach is easy, though at first I missed the start of the path to Panaghia stou Mathia. It is poorly marked. The beach is a joy but the sea was too rough on my visit for swimming.

All in all a perfect island for hiking: fabulous scenery, nice local people, nature full of flowers and birds, not too demanding trails.

I recommend hiking on Kythnos and hope to go back soon.

Dimitra Kapsimelli
Athens
Greece
Posted Date : 19-04-2017

Americans walk on Kythnos

We loved our trip to Kythnos! Our host Nigel took care of every detail from start to finish - from organizing our ferry tickets, to booking our charming hotel room, to adjusting the program to accommodate our interests. We felt very welcomed. From the moment he met us at the ferry our week was completely care free. With our Greek guide Katerina we explored Kythnos’ Neolithic ruins, a Byzantine castle, a limestone cave, the thermal springs at Loutra and myriad churches. We learned about the flora and fauna as we hiked along back trails, sometimes enjoying wild figs and grapes that lined the trails. Katerina shared stories from childhood summers spent on Kythnos, giving us an insight into life on this authentically Greek island. Evenings included visits to an open-air concert and listening to traditional music in a bar, as well as enjoying delicious, fresh food at different restaurants. All of this came at an unbeatable price – we can’t wait to return. Bravo to Nigel and Katerina!

Monique Rothman and Gaby Siegel
New York
United States
Posted Date : 07-09-2016

Una coppia italiana su Kythnos in agosto

(English translation follows)
 
Siamo una coppia di Genova e siamo stati a Kythnos i primi dieci giorni di agosto.
Siamo stati accolti da Nigel Tutt che con la sua cordialità e professionalità ci ha messi subito a nostro agio.
Abbiamo soggiornato all'albergo Messaria, nel cuore di Hora, capitale di Kythnos; albergo  a gestione famigliare, semplice ma molto carino e ben curato nei dettagli.
Kythnos è un isola a 2 ore e mezza di traghetto da Lavrio, non è molto grande e non offre tante attrazioni turistiche ma ha un grande fascino ed  è piena di spiagge, l'ideale per chi ha voglia di staccare da tutto e di rilassarsi.
È l'isola dei greci e del poco turismo, lontana dalla mondanità delle sue sorelle più alla moda e anche in pieno agosto troverete pochissima gente. È l'isola dei mille sentieri, del trekking e delle chiese: più o meno 365 piccole chiese bianche sparse su tutto il territorio. Impressionante!
Inoltre i suoi abitanti sono molto cordiali ed ospitali, non faticherete a sentirvi a casa. 
La cucina greca, anche su questa piccola isola, vi inebrierà e vi conquisterà con i suoi sapori mediterranei e a rendere tutto ancora più appetitoso sono i prezzi sbalorditivi: con meno di 30 euro in due si mangia e si beve alla grande!
Insomma, andate a Kythnos se potete!
 
[We are a couple from Genoa and we were on Kythnos the first ten days of August.
We were greeted by Nigel Tutt who with his friendliness and professionalism put us at ease immediately.
We stayed at the Hotel Messaria, in the heart of Hora, the capital of Kythnos; a family run hotel, simple but very nice and well appointed.
Kythnos is an island 2 hours by ferry from Lavrio, it is not very big and does not offer many tourist attractions but has great charm and is full of beaches, ideal for those who want to disconnect from everything and relax.
It is the island of the Greeks and of little tourism, far from the worldliness of other more fashionable Cycladic islands; even in August you will find very few people. It is the island of a thousand paths, trekking and churches: more or less 365 small white churches scattered throughout the island territory. Impressive!
In addition, its people are very friendly and hospitable, you are sure to feel at home.
Greek food, even on this small island, will fill and will charm you with its Mediterranean flavours and to make it even more appetising are the staggering prices: for less than 30 euro for two you eat and drink well!
In short, go to Kythnos if you can!]
 
 
Mara, Ugo
Genoa
Italy
Posted Date : 07-09-2016

Hiking on Kythnos Island, what an amazing experience!

Both myself and my mother really enjoyed hiking on the island via the donkey trails or the little links between villages and beaches. Having two people to show us around was also extra special.

We had a lovely stay at our hotel with no bad reviews around. I just noticed that while staying with our friend Kostas and while on the mainland that people indicate that one should not flush the toilet paper due to the small pipe size. Our hotel didn’t have this notice and we can flush paper on our side of the world. So perhaps that is something you should please inform people about just in case they unintentionally cause a block pipe.

The walks itself, as mentioned above was lovely. Swimming on a different beach every day was amazing and the occasional oleander forest was also exceptional. The routes were well marked and with the guide you also supplied, I’m sure I’ll be able to walk some of the trails again by myself if I come again.  I didn’t really have any issues with the marking of the trail, but perhaps a white painted footprint on a rock here and there can also indicate to people which way to walk. These can be used along with the small route numbers.  It would also be amazing to be able to explore some of the old mining caves in the future.

The evening activities were great, especially the festival in Driopida. While on the island we really got to experience local food, which was delicious by the way. While on the mainland most places gave us western food to choose from.  It was good for us to look at the menu and recognize something we had on the island and knowing it is worth ordering other than the western food. Our free evening when the waiter tried to understand that we wanted meatballs is also a memory which is going to stay with us for a while and the fish dinner was also very delicious.  I saw the octopus drying at the restaurants while we were walking there and someone did ask us if we had fried octopus, so I gather that it is also a delicacy when at the ocean. Perhaps next time I’ll try that.

You and Katerina’s knowledge of the island was exceptional and we really liked learning more about the places we visited or saw while walking. One or two of the highlights was the archeological site we visited and the castle was also a great spot. I look forward to more hikes becoming available to the other side of the island.

Until we go there again,

Liesl and Bets van Dalen
Johannesburg
South Africa
Posted Date : 12-08-2016

A great guided break on Kythnos, Athens

We spent two days in Athens due to the Seamen's strike. At short notice, Nigel Tutt found us a charming hotel, centrally located, and organised a very enjoyable walk in the National Park which included a good meal at a mountain Refuge.
Being escorted on arrival from the airport to & from all destinations throughout the holiday was greatly appreciated.
In Athens, an arranged guided tour gave depth & interest to the city.
We were delighted by Kythnos. There was surprisingly varied flora & fauna ( May ) and with the island's topology, dry stone walls, historical sites, lush green valleys, sandy beaches & coves, the island retains a sense of being its own place, unsullied by excess tourism. Equally so in the two main villages of Hora & Dryopida. The latter with a small folk museum showing how recent the past can seem. The walks were expertly guided by Katerina Filippa; the accommodation, food & hospitality were first rate.
It was a very full five days, leaving many vivid, lingering impressions. We wish Nigel Tutt well for developing his hotel in Dryopida and we are confident he will not be short of guests as Kythnos' attractions become more widely known. We hope to return.

Oliver Rugen, Felicity Page, London
Posted Date : 03-06-2016

Ancient path

walking up an ancient path ..... picking grapes, figs and pomegranates to the right and the left ....  reaching the summit .... soothed by a gentle gust of wind and then strolling downhill toward a golden - and uncrowded - beach .... and that's just a small part of hiking across Kythnos ......

Bruce Barnard
Cambridge
England
Posted Date : 15-09-2015

Great week in Kythnos

The first thing to say is that Kythnos was much better than we were prepared for it to be. It is a really beautiful island, with a vibrant traditional way of life which has disappeared on many better known islands.

It has more or less everything you would want from a Greek island. Varied scenery soaring to ancient hilltop forts and plunging to verdant valleys. Scores of great little beaches. Wild flowers galore, including copious lupin-like sea squills in autumn. Friendly and charming people. Delicious food and wine. Skilled local musicians.

Two special features: more than a hundred tiny Greek orthodox chapels scattered across every valley and patterned dry stone walls round many fields, often with big upright flat stones giving the impression of windows in the walls.

Tour leader Nigel Tutt has definitely done the right thing in selecting Kythnos as the location to develop his hotel

The walks are full of interest with beautiful views all the way, despite sometimes off-putting instructions like 'turn right at petrol station' or 'straight down past power station'.

The walking schedule is chock-full of action and it is helpful to be a bit nimble but if you find yourself flagging, as we did one day, one of the island's taxi drivers will be happy to come and whip you back to the hotel.

The track of old iron mine railway we walked along to reach the beach where Giorgios picked us up was the flattest path we encountered on the whole island but also one of the thorniest. Ouch! Our calves took quite a few scratches.

Mine very British host Nigel was very helpful in trying to meet all our requests but the star of the show was undoubtedly Katerina Filippa, leader of the guided walks. Joint author with Nigel of the book of Kythnos hiking trails, Katerina comes from a leading Kythnos family and is an expert on the history, wildlife and culture of the island.

A 20-minute session for 6 euros in the spa at Loutra will ease your aching limbs and leave your skin soft for several days. The spa is now low key though the warm mineral waters were once so famous that Kythnians have the alternative name of Thermians.

The island's tavernas offer dishes to suit all tastes – whether you prefer meat, fish or vegetarian options.

Work is yet to start on Nigel's hotel – what an eyesore at the moment – but the Hotel Mesaria in Hora was a fine substitute, providing us with a smart room, comfortable beds gushing hot shower and views over the meadows below from the spacious balcony.

All in all, a memorable week and we'll definitely be coming back when Nigel's hotel is open, though that might present us with one small problem – we won't be able to get to Stamati's bar in Hora for breakfast. Let's hope Hotel Galatas will provide equally good spanakopita and fresh fruit with yoghourt...

Andrew Newby
London
Britain
Posted Date : 01-10-2015

Orias Castle walk

(Testimonial in Italian; English translation follows)
 
La più grande emozione che ho avuto a Kithnos è la camminata fino al castello di Orias. Un posto di una bellezza travolgente. Un incanto assoluto. Nigel mi ha portato per un antica mulattiera tra le pietre ed i profumi delle erbe aromatiche e mi ha fatto scoprire le rovine del castello bizantino. Da lassù solo il vento e l'egeo che si apre con le isole davanti.
Nigel è una guida perfetta. Mi ha accompagnato a scoprire la bellezza di kithnos con amore, tranquillità e poesia. Nigel ha scoperto tutti i luoghi più belli dell'isola, conosce le tradizioni e lascia il tempo durante il cammino di guardare, ascoltare il grido dei falchi, il fischio del vento tra le montagne, sentire la forza del luogo. Dalla cima del castello si ascoltano i millenni passati, arrivano le voci e le immagini di tutti gli uomini e donne che passarano e vissero su queste rocce. Un luogo epico.
Nigel ha anche scritto un bellissimo libro sui sentieri dell'isola e conosce  le feste, la musica i balli e può portarti a delle feste tradizionali ancora autentiche.
Sono molto felice di averlo incontrato, Nigel è la guida perfetta perchè ama l'isola e sente la poesia. Ama la gente del posto e cerca con il suo lavoro di conservare la bellezza e l'autenticità dell'isola.
Consiglio a tutti di chiamarlo per fare una camminata con lui!
 
(English translation)
 
The biggest emotion I had at Kythnos was the walk up the Castle Orias. A place of overwhelming beauty. An absolute charm. Nigel (guide) took me along an old mule track between stones and the smells of aromatic herbs in order to discover the ruins of the Byzantine castle. Up there there is only the wind and the Aegean Sea in front of other islands.
 
Nigel is the perfect guide. He accompanied me in order to discover the beauty of Kythnos with love, calm and poetry. Nigel has discovered all the most beautiful places on the island, knows the traditions and leaves time during the walk to look, listen to the cries of falcons, the whistle of the wind between the mountains, and to feel the character of the island. From the top of the castle you listen to the thousands who have passed the place, you hear the voices and images of all the men and women who have passed these rocks and lived there. It is an epic place.
 
Nigel has also written a beautiful book about the trails on the island and knows the festivals, the music, the dances, and can take you to some authentic traditional celebrations.
 
I am very happy to have met him. Nigel is the perfect guide because he loves the island and feels its poetry. He loves the people and is looking with his work to conserve the beauty and authenticity of the island.
 
I advise you to call him and do a hike with him!
 

 

Elisabetta Mari
Florence
Italy
Posted Date : 31-08-2015

Three trails

 

    I walked three of the routes outlined in the Kythnos Hiking Guide and thoroughly enjoyed every one.

    The route from Loutra to the Orias castle is fiddly at the start, going along the mule track, but is well worth the effort when you get to near the castle. The views across the fields to the spectacular castle headland and the sea below is fantastic. The castle itself is ruined but contains an interesting old church with a Byzantine fresco.

    The route to Aghios Ioannis is long and arduous but rewarded by the nature and farming on the way and the outstanding isolated beaches when you get to the coast. Perfect for a quick dip before lunch in neighbouring Aghios Stephanos and the fine food at the Kantris taverna behind the beach. One of the best restaurants on the island in my view. And I certainly needed some sustenance before the tough hill ahead back to the Hora. Fortunately it is not too long.

    On another day, I walked back from Kanala to Dryopida, on at least part of the trail in the guidebook. I love that walk not just for the easy countryside you pass but also because of the beautiful views across the Aegean to the neighbouring islands. On a clear day you can see Paros probably, plus all those other islands nearer to Kythnos.

Michael Newson
Brussels
Posted Date : 15-07-2015